Diversity in Living Organisms

“Diversity in Living Organisms” is a chapter in a science textbook for class 9 students. The chapter covers the various forms and types of living organisms that exist in the world, including plants and animals. The Topics of the chapter may be as Follow :-

  • The classification of living organisms
  • The five kingdoms of living organisms: Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia
  • Characteristics and examples of organisms in each kingdom
  • The concept of biodiversity and the importance of preserving it.
  • It also covers the concept of classification of living organisms which includes a brief history of classification, binomial nomenclature, five kingdom classification, Linnaean hierarchy and the concept of classification of living organisms


An organism is defined as a living being that has the ability to grow, reproduce, maintain homeostasis, respond to stimuli, and adapt to its environment. Organisms may be of single-celled or multicellular. They can be classified into different groups based on their characteristics and characters. Examples of organisms include plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms such as bacteria and protists. Organisms can be further classified into different groups, such as kingdoms, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.


Prokaryotes are a group of organisms that do not have a defined nucleus and other membrane-bound organelles. They are the simplest and most ancient form of life on Earth, and include bacteria and archaea.

Bacteria are single-celled microorganisms that have a wide range of shapes and sizes, and they can be found in almost every environment on Earth. They are important decomposers in many ecosystems and also play important roles in nutrient cycling. Some bacteria can also form symbiotic relationships with other organisms, such as in the human gut.
Archaea are similar to bacteria in terms of size and shape, but they have distinct genetic and metabolic characteristics that set them apart. They can also survive in Places where the temperature is high and water is high salty.
Prokaryotic cells are smaller and simpler in structure compared to eukaryotic cells, which have a defined nucleus and other membrane-bound organelles. Prokaryotic cells have a single, circular chromosome, which contains all of the cell’s genetic material. They also do not have mitochondria and chloroplasts, which are found in eukaryotic cells.


Eukaryotes are a group of organisms that have a defined nucleus and other membrane-bound organelles. They are more complex in structure than prokaryotes, and include organisms such as plants, animals, fungi, and protists.

All the plants that are around us are multicellular organisms. As the plant can grow, reproduce and generate. They have cell walls, chloroplasts and a variety of other organelles.
Also all the Animals are the Multicellular organisms as they have ability to move, action to stimuli, and they also reproduce or give births to their ones.

The eukaryotes organisms can further be classified into sub groups, that are :-

  • Unicellular Eukaryotes Organsims
  • Multicellular Eukaryotes Organsims

After Understanding the Diversity in Living in Organisms you can also go through the next chapter of class 9 Science, the PDF link of which is given below:-

Class 9 Science Chapter – 8 :- Motion

Leave a Reply